Book & Magazine Freebies Competitions

Win the Books Shortlisted for the 2024 Branford Boase Award!

World Book Day
Listed on 28th April 2024
Closes in 10 days 3rd June 2024

Win the Books Shortlisted for the 2024 Branford Boase Award!

Details of this

The Branford Boase Award is celebrating its 25th anniversary! Set up in 2000, the Branford Boase Award is presented annually to the author of the outstanding debut novel for children. It also honours the editor of the winning title and highlights the importance of the editor in nurturing new talent.

The Branford Boase Award has an exemplary record in picking out future stars. Past winners and shortlisted authors include Meg Rosoff, Katya Balen, Philip Reeve, Frances Hardinge, Patrick Ness, M.G. Leonard, and Maisie Chan. Last year’s winner was Christine Pillainayagam for Ellie Pillai is Brown.

There are 6 books on the 2024 shortlist. Julia Eccleshare, co-founder of the Branford Boase Award and chair of the judges says, “As we celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Branford Boase Award, we are particularly excited to announce this shortlist.

World Book Day have seen huge changes in the number of books submitted for the award, but more importantly in the range of stories being written. The development of own voice narratives is particularly exciting. The authors shortlisted for this year’s award are extremely talented, and there’s an authenticity and freshness to their books that we found exhilarating.”

How to enter

To win a set of the six shortlisted books, simply email with your name and address. Include World Book Day 2024 Branford Boase Award Competition in the title of your email.

View our Exclusive Competition Win Fantastic Prizes!